home pageabout usnewshistoryresearchcontacts   BannerTop

Irish Post Offices & Postmarks

Aughintain, Clogher
(Achadh an tSein) / County Tyrone.

The post office opened in 1861-3 and closed on 31st May 1977. It has also been referred to as Aghintain. It has previously only listed a recorded english rubber mark.

Aughintain / Clogher RSO / Co. Tyrone

Earliest known date - 22 May 1904
Latest known date -
Postmark type - Circle, Single ring, date on one line as DD MMM YY.

Codes Known -


22 May 1904      



Aughintain PO





Photos taken 18 Jul 1994 from the A W Graham collection. Listed as 17 Aughintain Road, BT76 0UY






Aughintain PO 18 Jul 1994







The Postmasters have been listed as:-
1915-19 Mrs Cuthbertson (under Fivemiletown)
1923-43 James Wilson (Clogher)
1944-67 J Thompson
1968-79 (last) N. Keys .





  Copyright © NI Philatelic Society
designed by KMcS, Dec 2009
Home   Philatelic Research Library   Committee Latest News